Celebrating the Class of 2019

Chaminade Julienne Catholic High School graduated 145 students from the Class of 2019 on Monday, May 20 at 7 p.m. at the University of Dayton’s RecPlex.

Members of the Class of 2019 will attend 41​ different colleges or universities in the fall. Additionally, four members of the class will serve in the United State military, either as an enlisted service person, a cadet in one of the service academies or military college, or a participant in the Reserve Officers Training Corps at their college or university. 78​ ​members, or 55% of the class, was awarded more than $14 million dollars total in scholarships for their studies.

Josie Forsthoff, (Mother Brunner, University of Dayton) was named the top of her class and James Blackshire (St. Luke, The Ohio State University) was second. Three students were named commended students by the National Merit Scholarship Program - James Blackshire, Gabe Campion (St. Albert the Great, The Ohio State University) and Josh Kinnear (Bishop Leibold, University of Dayton). One member was named a finalist by the National Merit Scholarship Program - Avery Meyer (St. Albert the Great, University of Kentucky).

Three seniors were also recognized by the CJ faculty and staff with annual awards that best exemplify the three pillars of the school's mission:

  • for her commitment to faith, dedication to learning, and demonstration of school and family spirit, Katie Zopff (St. Luke, Bellarmine University) received the Founder's Award;
  • Grace Jackson (St. Peter, University of Dayton) received the Michael D. Trainor Award, named in honor of Chaminade Julienne's principal from 1999-2004, which is given to a student who has regularly demonstrated intellectual curiosity;
  • and for best exemplifying the Chaminade Julienne spirit, Logan Jennings (Meadowdale Elementary, University of Mt. Union) received the Gerard "Fuzzy" Faust Award, named in honor of the legendary CJ teacher and coach who served from 1933-1980.

Additional accomplishments from the Class of 2019 included:

  • More than 7,500 hours of community service during the Class of 2019's four years at Chaminade Julienne, including Katie Zopff who contributed 430 hours in her four years;
  • Hunter Johns (Holy Angels, United States Naval Academy) and Avery Meyer receiving the OHSAA Scholar-Athlete Scholarship Award;
  • Martez Cuff (Mother Brunner, Tennessee State University) and Diana Ekezie (Mother Brunner, University of Cincinnati) receiving OHSAA Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award;
  • Kate Nevius (Eastmont Elementary) receiving the OHSAA Courageous Student Award;
  • Colin Downing (Mother Brunner, University of Cincinnati) and Emma Schaefer (Holy Angels, University of Dayton) receiving the OHSAA State Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award;
  • 24 four-year varsity letter winners;
  • 55 seniors who were members of the National Honor Society;
  • 35 seniors who were Presidential Academic Award recipients;
  • 7 seniors who were Presidential Achievement Award recipients;
  • 21 seniors who remained on the honor roll for 15 consecutive quarters;
  • 14 seniors who were awarded the Seal of Biliteracy national award for completing advanced programs of World Language Study;
  • 4 seniors who completed four years of the Project Lead the Way Engineering program;
  • 3 seniors who completed four years of the Project Lead the Way Biomedical Science program; and,
  • 46 seniors who were awarded passing with distinction for their Senior Capstone Project.

Congratulations to the Class of 2019!

Posted May 20, 2019