The Chaminade Julienne Class of 2011

Chaminade Julienne Catholic High School held its commencement ceremony Monday, May 23 at 7 p.m. at the Benjamin & Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center. Maureen O'Rourke, '01, served as the commencement speaker for the evening. The CJ alumna is the coordinator of Marianist activities and scholarships in the Office of the Rector at the University of Dayton.

Baccalaureate Mass was celebrated Thursday, May 19 at Emmanuel Church in Dayton. Graduating first in the class is Lynsay Strahorn, a National Merit Scholarship Program recipient who plans to attend Cleveland State University, study psychology in the school’s honors program and play soccer.

In addition to the top student, the faculty and staff of Chaminade Julienne recognize three seniors who best exemplify the three elements of the school’s mission — commitment to faith, dedication to learning, and demonstration of school and family spirit. Lee Hollis received the Founder’s Award for demonstrating on a daily basis the spirit of St. Julie Billiart and Blessed William Chaminade. John Henry Hinders received the Michael D. Trainor Award, named in honor of CJ’s principal from 1999 to 2004, which is given to a student who has regularly demonstrated intellectual curiosity. For best exemplifying the Chaminade Julienne spirit, Cassie Zehenny was awarded the Gerard “Fuzzy” Faust Award, named for CJ’s legendary coach and teacher from 1933 to 1980.

This year’s senior class, in conjunction with the student body of Chaminade Julienne, contributed over 9,700 services hours this year above the number of hours required by the school. Based on the Independent Sector’s value of a service hour ($21.36), CJ’s contribution to the local, national and international communities amounts to $207,491. As a class, the seniors contributed over 6,800 service hours during their four years at CJ with 23 students contributing over 100 hours each.


  • $7,967,000 awarded in scholarships as of May 18, 2011
  • 6 graduates were recognized for their accomplishments in the National Merit Scholarship and the National Achievement Scholarship Programs. They are Megan Ayers, Raymmond Hall, Levi Koehl, Jordan Morrison, Bineh Ndefru and Lynsay Strahorn
  • 6 athletes signed to play sports for a college or university
  • 2 student are entering the armed services
  • 21 served as Kairos ministry leaders
  • 35 graduates are members of the National Honor Society
  • 20 graduates are Presidential Academic Award Recipients
  • 24 graduates are Ohio Award of Merit Recipients
  • 5 graduates are Presidential Achievement Award Recipients
  • This year's graduates will be attending 43 colleges and universities, with a majority of the graduates attending colleges and universities in Ohio including the University of Dayton, Ohio State University, Sinclair Community College and Wright State University. Graduates will also be attending post-secondary institutions across the nation including Carnegie Mellon University, Marquette University, Purdue University, University of Notre Dame, and Yale University.