Celebrating the Class of 2021

Chaminade Julienne Catholic High School graduated 168 students from the class of 2021 on Monday, May 17 at the University of Dayton Arena.

Members of the class of 2021 will attend 53 different colleges or universities in the fall. Additionally, six members of the class will serve in the United State military, either as an enlisted service person, a cadet in one of the service academies or military college, or a participant in the Reserve Officers Training Corps at their college or university. 80 members, or 48 percent of the class, were awarded $17,612,451 in scholarships for their studies and achievements as of May 12.

9,953 hours of community service were completed during the class of 2021’s four years at Chaminade Julienne, with 29 students whose service during their time at CJ totaled over 100 hours.

Thirty-four students graduated with Summa Cum Laude status, having achieved a career GPA above 4.24. Those students are: William Armstrong, Jonathan Barber, Allison Bardine, Jessica Brunner, Benjamin Campion, Logan Downey, Evelyn Durkin, Matthew Eifert, Chiamaka Ejinaka, Riley Ferdelman, Dominick Fisher, Cyrus Good, Lorin Groll, Benjamin Hanlin, Aidan Kelly, Keely Kocur, Claire Leingang, Suzanne Lyons, Morgan McDaniel, Emma Morris, Natalie Mussin Phillips, Natalie Rossy, Kathryn Schinaman, Joseph Nartker, Daniel Nauseef, Leah Patel, McKenzie Reid, Maya Reynolds, Aidah Shuttleworth, Anna Vo, Mason Wilkson, Dylan Wurst, Spencer Yates, and Alexandra Yunger.

Twenty-seven students graduated with Magna Cum Laude status, having achieved a career GPA between 4.00 and 4.24. Those students are: Ashley Alanis Anguiano, Allison Bertke, Mia Brown, Eric Cervantes, Pasquale Cristiano, Sophia Davis, Grace Delaney, Maria Emmerich, Natalie Gaier, Jayden Gregory, Anna Hieatt, Mikayla Jette, Nolan Kimball, Andrew Kutter, Andrew Lehmann, Benjamin Mathile, Maurigina Mbah, Anna Mussin Phillips, Sean Porras, Madalyn Richardson, Kelsey Roach, Caris Skrobot, McKenna Taylor, Emma Timmons, Natalee Townsend, Rebecca Weinel, and Ruben Zelina.

Seventeen students graduated with Cum Laude status, having achieved a career GPA between 3.75 and 3.99. Those students are: Jason Baldwin, Noah Boehringer, Logan Brown, Lily Davis, Colin Feller, Clare Hickey, Kerry Kadel, Emily Kintz, Carolyn Marshall, Ava Mendenhall, Matthew Noble, John Rains, Jordan Scheidt, Gabrielle Schneider, Terrence Slaybaugh, Olivia Starnes, and Jason Ward.

John Rains received commendation by the National Merit Scholarship Program, while Kathryn Schinaman was named a finalist for the prestigious program.

Three seniors were also recognized by the CJ faculty and staff with annual awards that best exemplify the three pillars of the school's mission:
  • For her commitment to faith, dedication to learning, and demonstration of school and family spirit, Mikayla Jette received the Founder's Award.
  • Given to a student who has regularly demonstrated intellectual curiosity, Keely Kocur received the Michael D. Trainor Award, named in honor of Chaminade Julienne's principal from 1999-2004.
  • For best exemplifying the Chaminade Julienne spirit, Max Cross received the Gerard "Fuzzy" Faust Award, named in honor of the legendary CJ teacher and coach who served from 1933-1980.
Additional accomplishments from the Class of 2021 included:
Mason Wilkson received the OHSAA Scholar-Athlete Award;
David Frederick and McKenzie Reid received the OHSAA Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award;
Lyle Gross received the OHSAA Courageous Student Award;
Claire Leingang and Brian Niebrugge Andreu received the OHSAA Award of Excellence;
32 four-year varsity letter winners;
56 seniors who were members of the National Honor Society;
49 seniors who were Presidential Academic Award recipients;
11 seniors who were Presidential Achievement Award recipients;
32 seniors who remained on the honor roll for 15 consecutive quarters;
21 seniors who completed four years of the Project Lead the Way program;
59 seniors (16 groups) who were awarded passing with distinction for their Senior Capstone Project.

Congratulations to the class of 2021!